Second Life ate my Hampster!

January 4, 2010 at 10:28 am 2 comments

The Subject Centre  where I work gets some linkage from the post Engineering in Virtual Worlds, a round up of  Second Life/virtual world things:

“There have been recent reports of the failure of Second Life to live up to the hype, but the potential of virtual worlds – multi-user virtual environments (MUVEs) – is still being explored in education. It is perhaps Second Life’s potential as a First Life marketplace that has failed to live up to the hype.”

Worth a read.

Good that the hype has died down. The idea and the potential still remain long after the “Second Life Stole my Wife” copywriters have moved on. Its good we got a mention and a citation – all good for business – if people are now asking “so what is it all about?” we are in a slightly better than the average position to say, which is our job!

My long standing gripe with the whole SL thing is that the very people who have never even tried SL are the ones slagging it off – incredible! It was easier to persuade those same people about the commercial Internet 15 years ago than it was with SL. I’m generalising wildly, but I think the reason for that is its a generational thing. The Internet was new for everybody of all ages. But the virtual world, or indeed, virtuality generally, is harder to grasp for older people.

Entry filed under: Education, Learning technology, Second Life, Virtual worlds, web.

Second Life Book: My blatant act of self-publicity Google becomes Goddle

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. angelbearoh  |  January 4, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Aside from going in there for just plain fun, I can easily see two good things Second Life can do:

    Virtual business meeting space to save on travel
    Virtual classroom/field trip space, also to save on travel

    I’m one of your older people, with my 50th birthday coming up in March, and the thing I like about SL is that it provides a moderate taxation of my brain, a source of problems for me to solve. I’m trying to express myself more through animation of my avatar, and put on stand-up comic shows.
    With some upgrades to my computer, I’d eventually like to film and produce some machinima videos to show off at my brick ‘n’ mortar church. I’m sure they’d love it.

    Reply
    • 2. icesculpture  |  January 5, 2010 at 11:30 am

      Hi Angelbearoh – yep i agree with you it is useful for virtual meetings and collegues running distance learning courses have used SL for just that. The thing is you’ve tried it and made your own mind up, this is the tough bit for a lot of the naysayers! I’m not much younger than you actually so I’d better be careful who i accuse of holding back progress!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog RSS Feed

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License This work is licenced under a Creative Commons Licence. Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available by contacting Rob Pearce directly.

RSS Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS EngSc Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

